william wei luminous shadow

WANG Pei-yao: Luminous Shadow

Memory can be luminous so as to cast shadow in time. Certain memories in life are so profound that they need to be slowly brewed and carefully tasted, similar to the process how literature is penned, music is com- posed, or photography is developed. Inspired by the bestselling novel The Stolen Bicycle written by WU Ming-yi, pianist WANG Pei-yao seeks to explore a new dimension of literature and music through the complexity of life itself. Musicians WANG Pei-yao, William Wei, laureate of the Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition, and Victor COO, the Filipino-Chinese cellist, perform pieces by the Eastern European composers JANÁČEK, LIGETI, ENESCU, and KODÁLY. Some of the pieces were based on rural folksongs collected by the com- posers, which then inspired them to produce compositions of their own. This process is akin to the way readers experience different languages phonically throughout the novel. The music reflects the elaborate setup of the novel to evoke the audience’s deep hidden emotions.




Leoš JANÁČEK: In the Mists, I. Andante

Sergei PROKOFIEV: Violin Sonata No.1 in F Minor, Op. 80, I. Andante assai

Zoltán KODÁLY: Sonata for Solo Cello, Op. 8, II. Adagio con gran espressione

György LIGETGI: Automne à Varsovie, from Piano Etudes, Book 1 No.6

Karol SZYMANOWSKI: “Chant de Roxane”, Transcription for Violin and Piano, from King

Roger, Op.46

George ENESCU: Violin Sonata No.3, II. Andante sostenuto e misterioso

Arno BABADJANIAN: Piano Trio in F-Sharp Minor, I. Largo- allegro espressivo & II. Andante

Federico MOMPOU: Angelico, from Musica Callada


Piano|WANG Pei-yao

Violin|William WEI

Cello | Victor COO

Produced by National Theater & Concert Hall


Apr 16 2022



More Info

Buy Tickets


National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying)
No.1, Sanduo 1st Rd., Fengshan Dist., Kaohsiung City 830043, Taiwan


Buy Tickets